JACK OF ALL TRADES, MASTER OF ONE

I am what I am and that’s all that I am. Popeye got it wrong. We are what we want to be.

I could have been an artist, an architect and a stuntman. We are told to do what we are best at, but what if we are good at more than one thing?

We choose one. We choose because we have no choice.

No one is born to do anything. I believe we weren’t born with a purpose, but for a purpose – to be able to decide for ourselves what our purpose is. Confusion about what you want do is a good thing. It means you are a man of many talents and are loath to give up all but one.

A year ago, I was made to choose my profession. I would have liked a buffet of options to help myself to. What they gave me was a statutory menu-card and told me to order the one dish I liked the most. It satiated my appetite for the moment but left me hungry for more.

It would have been wonderful to have a list of all things I want to do and the opportunity to select everything I liked. But they told me that multiple answers bring negative marking. Tick one and pass.

They’re rationing jobs these days – one man, one job. Hobbies are just for fun.

A man who loves his job is a workaholic and a man who loves his hobbies is whimsical. But the reason we have hobbies is because we don’t love our jobs enough. It is when our work is to work on our hobbies and our hobby is to work that a medium-rare job becomes a job well done.

I think one of the reasons why we become cynical with age is that sooner than later, we get bored with doing the same work day in and day out, year after year. Changing jobs is easy but changing careers is not. We wouldn’t have to, if we replace ‘or’ with ‘and’ when we finally pick a career. If we can’t switch lanes, all we’d be doing is driving single-file on a five-lane highway.

As young adults, we are trying to find our place in the world. But the world keeps telling us you can’t be in more than one place at once. Or can you?

You must be the change you want to see and never change all that you want be. Like you, I want to be everything that I can be because I know that I can be everything I want to be.

When someone is very good at something, we say he’s got potential. And we know that electricity flows from high potential to low potential – no one with any potential must allow it to fizzle out without a fight. Insulate yourself from the critics who try to defuse you by saying that a man cannot do more than one thing properly. That and never giving up on your talents will make all the (potential) difference in the world.

I don’t really want to be an artist, an architect and a stuntman. But I like being spoilt for choice and I love having my fingers in too many pies.

Sometimes, I wish I had a sixth finger.

* * *

7 thoughts on “JACK OF ALL TRADES, MASTER OF ONE

  1. true words Mrigank… we are able beings who are capable of doing more than one ting so why should we be made to choose? why indeed is there only one thing in life that must become the only thing in our lives…? though having a sixth finger might just cause a little trouble.. good going 🙂

  2. Well written Mrigank, but aren’t some of these shackles self imposed? Here is a man who was Jack of many trades, and master of them all. Nearly 5,000 years ago, he tossed aside the statutory menu-card that was given to him, and went on to do everything he wanted to do.
    (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michaelangelo)

  3. hey nyc 1…its so true…wish v cud really do it all simultaneously…u know i also so wanted 2 be both architect n doctor

  4. hey mg, nicely written…… its a bit ironical……
    profession- u r deeply n madly in love with it….n dere could jss b one ding which u actually love to do ur whole lyf…. but d ding is u really need to recognize it at d correct point of tym..
    it never gt converted in to bordm duo…..smon said ur profession mst b lyk ur second wife……
    n hobbies – r jss out of interest…… n interest changes wid tym…….. so d whimsical’s one r dose who choose deir profession out f hobbies n love to do dat ding for ever……
    a man in two boats never reaches his destination………….

  5. i agree wid shagun in this aspect…..people keep hobbies usually as a stress buster or boredom killer…..the phrase ‘jack of all trades and master of none” is a general advice……its just to tell u that dust urself and try to persevere for atleast one career rather than goofing around many others….it tells u to DECIDE….n if ur good at many things n like dem a lot then u shud pursue dem…its not an OBLIGATORY phrase…and every profession requires a sacrifices on time and body…u cannot keep performing stunts wen a patient is desperately beckoning for u in pain….to end it all just focus and make choices…dey may be right or wrong…but ul LEARN a lot…and if michelangelo cud do it den u too have a fair chance

Take a minute. Post a comment. Make me happy.

