DAFFODILS, BY MOHAMMED AJMAL KASAB

We’ve all heard the original by William Wordsworth. This is Kasab’s version:

I wander’d quiet as a shroud

That floats on high over plagues and ills,

When all at once I saw a crowd,

A horde, that around CST mills;

Beside the tracks, beneath the eaves

Jostling and fighting with ho’s and heaves.

 

Continuous as the lights that shine

And change on the Central Railway,

They stretch’d in never-ending line

Along the margin of right-of-way:

Ten thousand saw I at a glance,

All happened to be there by chance.

 

The bodies besides them fell; but they

Picked themselves up and tried to flee:

A terrorist could not but be gay,

In such unsuspecting company:

I fired – and fired – but little thought

That death to me the show had brought.

 

For oft, when in my cell I lie

In vacant or in pensive mood

They flash upon that inward eye

‘Cause of confinement in solitude;

And then my heart with horror filled,

For I am to join those I have killed.   

– Mohammed Ajmal Kasab

6 thoughts on “DAFFODILS, BY MOHAMMED AJMAL KASAB

Take a minute. Post a comment. Make me happy.

