ODE TO ANOPHELES

Roving, buzzing, from pond to puddle

Looking for blood to dine,

Its scent must’ve gotten you all in muddle

For you chose to feast on mine.

Not that I put up much of a fight

Your sting I didn’t much mind,

I could have forgiven your vicious bite

If you hadn’t left vivax behind.

My nights were spent in feverish shivering

Days hoping, may night never fall,

I wondered, how comes, as I lay quivering

Such pain, from something so small.

Two weeks I’ve known you, to the date

Can’t say it’s been a pleasure,

Your name will stir up seething hate

And fear in equal measure.

In a week or two you will meet your end

Like the rest of your kind I loathe

Know that I’m already on the mend

For I am the stronger of us both.

* * *

5 thoughts on “ODE TO ANOPHELES

Take a minute. Post a comment. Make me happy.

